APP IN DEVELOPMENT · Physical-camera app tests are pending.

CAMERA BUYING

Outdoor PoE cameras: power, streams and model checks

On this page

Match outdoor PoE cameras to compatible power equipment and their exact stream codec. The RLC-520A is a documented candidate with revision limits.

Outdoor PoE cameras: power, streams and model checks. CameraViewer editorial cover with the house and camera lens logo.

Match the camera and the power source

Power over Ethernet, or PoE, can carry network traffic and power through one cable when the camera and power equipment use a compatible standard. A network port alone does not establish PoE support. Check the camera, switch or injector together.

Plan the cable path before choosing a camera. Record where the power equipment will sit, how the cable enters the building and which parts face weather. The camera's weather rating does not automatically cover an adapter, connector or cable joint.

A documented wired candidate

The inspected Reolink RLC-520A US specification lists active IEEE 802.3af, 48 V PoE and H.264 video. It gives us a scoped candidate for a wired installation, with no CameraViewer hardware playback result.

The RLC-520A model page explains the revision caveat. A matching model name on a seller's page cannot establish that its hardware uses the same stream settings. Confirm the hardware revision and selected stream codec when the camera arrives.

Avoid a codec shortcut

Resolution and codec are different facts. A high-resolution camera may use a codec that differs between its main stream and a smaller stream. Request the exact stream information you need instead of treating a resolution label as proof of viewer support.

CameraViewer has simulator evidence for H.264 fixture video only. That evidence does not establish H.265 playback or a full-resolution camera connection. The compatibility page keeps those tests separate. Use the Reolink setup guide for ports and direct-camera versus recorder paths.

Budget for the whole cable run

Check whether the quoted purchase includes the power supply, switch or injector, storage and mounting accessories your plan needs. We have no verified merchant offers, installation quote or current hardware prices. Seller stock and a complete accessory list need their own confirmation.

If you prefer Wi-Fi with separate power, compare the Tapo and Reolink local viewing routes. That comparison covers selected candidates, so it cannot rank every outdoor product in either brand.

For recording needs, read the local storage guide. If the camera will be viewed away from home, verify the local connection first and use the user-managed VPN guide to plan the network route.

We develop CameraViewer. These guides compare manufacturer documentation; no physical-camera app tests or verified merchant offers are available. Read our evidence and funding policy.

Useful next steps

Sources and limits

CameraViewer development briefCameraViewer product team · Owner-supplied brief · App behavior not independently tested

Publication date: Not stated · Development brief

Simulator captures demonstrate manual RTSP setup, decoded H.264 fixture video, saving a camera and full-screen viewing.

Owner-supplied brief; screenshots have not been independently examined here. Test media demonstrates app behavior, not physical-camera compatibility.

Read the source ↗
Which Reolink Products Support CGI/RTSP/ONVIFReolink · Selected documentation claims reviewed 2026-10-02

Publication date: Not stated · Manufacturer or standards documentation

Must connect to Reolink Home Hub

Quote applies to the listed battery Wi-Fi camera row. Model, power and Hub/NVR conditions vary; no CameraViewer hardware test.

Read the source ↗
Reolink RLC-520A US product specificationsReolink · Selected documentation claims reviewed 2026-10-02

Publication date: Not stated · Manufacturer or standards documentation

H.264

Selected US specifications inspected. Exact region, hardware revision and firmware must match; no physical-camera app test or merchant listing verified.

Read the source ↗

Prelaunch content. Manufacturer protocol documentation and app test evidence describe different things.