APP IN DEVELOPMENT · Physical-camera app tests are pending.

CAMERA BUYING

Local storage cameras: recordings and open streams

On this page

Check local recordings and open live streams separately. A memory-card slot does not establish another app can view saved clips or receive live video.

Local storage cameras: recordings and open streams. CameraViewer editorial cover with the house and camera lens logo.

Decide where recordings will live

Local storage describes where a camera saves recordings. An open live stream describes how another client can receive video. These are separate questions. A camera may have a memory-card slot while keeping its live view inside a manufacturer's app, or offer a live stream without giving another viewer access to saved clips.

Write down what you need to keep: a live glance, event clips or continuous recordings. Then decide whether storage belongs in the camera, a network video recorder or another recorder you manage. A recorder is another device that receives and stores video, with its own setup and power needs.

Separate the card from a cloud plan

The Tapo C120 specifications distinguish a microSD card slot from Tapo Care cloud storage, which requires a subscription. This establishes two storage routes for that documented model. It does not establish which card, settings or retention period fit your use.

For the C210 and C225, check their own specification and the current card requirements before purchase. Compare the cost of the camera, card and replacement storage rather than assuming the box includes everything.

Check simultaneous use before planning a recorder

TP-Link's RTSP and ONVIF instructions describe limits on using three storage methods together. Check that documented restriction before planning a card, cloud service and network recorder at the same time. A successful connection alone does not prove the intended combination can keep recording.

For a wired candidate, begin with the RLC-520A model notes and the exact recorder and camera documentation. Recorder access may use different accounts, channels and addresses from direct camera access. The Reolink setup guide covers that distinction.

Keep paid services and app playback separate

A camera's local storage option does not establish the absence of every subscription or paid feature. Check which notifications, cloud clips and other services need payment in the manufacturer's current terms. We do not have verified prices or merchant offers for these models.

CameraViewer weekly and annual subscriptions are planned; pricing and feature boundaries remain undecided. The app has no confirmed physical-camera recording or archive playback support. Its development status describes the demonstrated behavior.

Choose a live-stream candidate using the RTSP buying guide. If power comes through a network cable, use the outdoor PoE checklist before deciding on the whole installation.

We develop CameraViewer. These guides compare manufacturer documentation; no physical-camera app tests or verified merchant offers are available. Read our evidence and funding policy.

Useful next steps

Sources and limits

CameraViewer development briefCameraViewer product team · Owner-supplied brief · App behavior not independently tested

Publication date: Not stated · Development brief

Simulator captures demonstrate manual RTSP setup, decoded H.264 fixture video, saving a camera and full-screen viewing.

Owner-supplied brief; screenshots have not been independently examined here. Test media demonstrates app behavior, not physical-camera compatibility.

Read the source ↗
How to View Tapo Camera on PC, NAS, or NVR Using RTSP/ONVIFTP-Link · Selected documentation claims reviewed 2026-10-02

Publication date: Not stated · Manufacturer or standards documentation

High quality (stream1): rtsp://username:password@IP Address/stream1

Applies to documented Tapo models and configurations. Manufacturer instructions do not establish app compatibility.

Read the source ↗
Which Reolink Products Support CGI/RTSP/ONVIFReolink · Selected documentation claims reviewed 2026-10-02

Publication date: Not stated · Manufacturer or standards documentation

Must connect to Reolink Home Hub

Quote applies to the listed battery Wi-Fi camera row. Model, power and Hub/NVR conditions vary; no CameraViewer hardware test.

Read the source ↗
Tapo C120 US product specificationsTP-Link Tapo · Selected documentation claims reviewed 2026-10-02

Publication date: Not stated · Manufacturer or standards documentation

H.264

Selected US specifications inspected. Exact region, hardware revision and firmware must match; no physical-camera app test or merchant listing verified.

Read the source ↗
Tapo C210 US product specificationsTP-Link Tapo · Selected documentation claims reviewed 2026-10-02

Publication date: Not stated · Manufacturer or standards documentation

H.264

Selected US specifications inspected. Exact region, hardware revision and firmware must match; no physical-camera app test or merchant listing verified.

Read the source ↗
Tapo C225 US product specificationsTP-Link Tapo · Selected documentation claims reviewed 2026-10-02

Publication date: Not stated · Manufacturer or standards documentation

H.264

Selected US specifications inspected. Exact region, hardware revision and firmware must match; no physical-camera app test or merchant listing verified.

Read the source ↗
Reolink RLC-520A US product specificationsReolink · Selected documentation claims reviewed 2026-10-02

Publication date: Not stated · Manufacturer or standards documentation

H.264

Selected US specifications inspected. Exact region, hardware revision and firmware must match; no physical-camera app test or merchant listing verified.

Read the source ↗

Prelaunch content. Manufacturer protocol documentation and app test evidence describe different things.